Trade Compliance

GHY discusses changes to international trade regulations and explores cutting-edge compliance strategies.

2020 Federal Holidays for CBSA and CBP

Posted December 23, 2019

Canada

Canada Border Services Agency Official Holidays for 2020


The CBSA’s Technical Commercial Client Unit recently published the list of official Holidays for the next year. Except where indicated otherwise, these dates apply to all provinces. 

   Wednesday January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day
  Monday February 17, 2020  Family Day (AB, NB, ON, SK, BC and MB, NS, PE)
  Friday April 10, 2020 Good Friday
  Monday April 13, 2020  Easter Monday
  Monday May 18, 2020 Victoria Day
  Wednesday June 24, 2020 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day (Quebec Only)
  Wednesday July 1, 2020 Canada Day
  Thursday July 9, 2020 Nunavut Day (Nunavut Only)
  Monday August 3, 2020 Civic Holiday (All provinces/territories except Quebec and Yukon)
  Monday August 17, 2020 Discovery Day (Yukon only)
  Monday September 7, 2020 Labour Day
  Monday October 12, 2020  Thanksgiving
  Wednesday November 11, 2020 Remembrance Day
  Friday December 25, 2020  Christmas Day
  Monday December 28, 2020        Boxing Day
  Friday January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day

Planned Maintenance Outages for 2020


The Agency also published the list of scheduled maintenance outages for its computers and networks for 2019. They will occur on the following weekends, generally in the early morning:

  • January 25-26, 2020
  • February 22-23, 2020
  • March 21-22, 2020
  • April 25-26, 2020
  • May 23-24, 2020
  • June 20-21, 2020
  • July 25-26, 2020
  • August 22-23, 2020
  • September 19-20, 2020
  • October 24-25, 2020
  • November 1st , 2020
  • November 21-22, 2020 
  • December 12-13, 2020

The dates of these outages are based on information available at time of publication and are subject to change. Updated and more detailed information will be communicated by bulletin in advance of the outage.

Additional outages can be expected for the migration of system releases, but exact dates/times have not been determined.

United States

U.S. Customs and Border Protection Holidays for 2020 


CBP has not yet posted a notification on the Cargo Messaging System regarding the list of U.S. Federal Holidays for next year, but in accordance with guidelines from the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, the dates in question will be as follows: 

    Wednesday January 1, 2020  New Year’s Day
  Monday January 20, 2020 Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
  Monday February 17, 2020 Washington’s Birthday
  Monday May 25, 2020 Memorial Day
  Friday July 3, 2020 Independence Day
  Monday September 7, 2020 Labor Day
  Monday October 12, 2020 Columbus Day
  Wednesday November 11, 2020 Veterans Day
  Thursday November 26, 2020 Thanksgiving Day
  Friday December 25, 2020  Christmas Day 

Need More Information?


Should you have any questions about available services during holiday hours, don’t hesitate to contact us – our trade experts are here to help.

 

Sign Up for Trade News, Compliance Updates and More